2019 Young Scientist Awards were announced

This year an online award ceremony was peformed.

2019 Young Scientist Awards were announced

The Young Scientist Awards given by Bilim Kahramanları Derneği was announced. The award aims to encourage the young scientists who have contributed to basic science and engineering at the national and international level. The award was organized by three universities every year. 7 scientists were awarded for 2019, the awards were announced with an online ceremony that took place on 18 May 2020.

19-05-2020 İSTANBUL – Seven young scientists were awarded by Bilim Kahramanları Derneği. The 8th Young Scientist awards were given to recognize the contributions of young scientists, who are under 38, with significant contributions to their field.

The 2019 programme was hosted by The rector of Abdullah Gül Üniversity, Prof. Dr. İhsan Sabuncuoğlu; the rector of Çankaya University, Prof. Dr. Can Çoğun and the rector of Düzce University, Prof. Dr. Nigar Demircan Çakar.

Seven young scientists were awarded.

Amongst the 126 applicants; Asst. Prof. Çağlar ELBÜKEN (Bilkent University UNAM – Materials Science and Nanotechnology), Asst. Prof. Elif Nur Fırat KARALAR (Koc University – Molecular Biology and Genetics), Assoc. Prof. Ertuğrul BAŞAR (Koc University – Electrical and Electornics Engineering), Assoc. Prof. Mustafa Evren ERŞAHİN (İstanbul Technical University – Environment Engineering), Asst. Prof. Mehmet Selim HANAY (Bilkent University – Physics / Mechanical Engineering), Asst. Prof. Savaş TAŞOĞLU (Koc University – Mechanical Engineering) and Assoc. Prof. Sedat NİZAMOĞLU (Koc University – Electrical and Electronics Engineering) received the 2019 Young Scientist Awards.

Dr. Çağlar Elbüken, received his B. Sc. degree in 2004 from Bilkent University, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, his Ph.D degree from University of Waterloo, Mechanical Engineering. He worked as a post-doctoral associated at Waterloo for 2 years after which he joined Abbott Laboratories Point-of-care department as Senior R&D scientist. After a research assistant professorship position at Koc University, he joined Bilkent University, National Nanotechnology Research Center (UNAM) as an assistant professor in 2013. At UNAM, he established the microfluidics laboratory. Between 2015 – 2018 he worked as associate director of UNAM. Dr. Elbüken received 2019 BAGEP young scientist award from Science Academy, Turkey.

Dr. Elbuken’s research focuses on microfluidic systems, point-of-care diagnostic systems, two-phase flow dynamics and hemorheology. He led several research projects funded by European Union, TUBITAK and industry as principal investigator. He has 2 patents, 2 book chapters and over 40 peer-reviewed international journal publications. His research forms the foundations of the high-sensitivity detection tools used in biotechnology. Dr. Elbuken worked in organization of several scientific events such as UNAM Nanoday, 3. Biosensors Congress, 3. EBAT Congress.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someonePrint this page