EventProf. Julia M Yeomans

Nonlinear world of commercial photonic systems

Active materials, such as bacteria, molecular motors and self-propelled colloids, are Nature’s engines. They continuously transform chemical energy from their environment to mechanical work. Dense active matter shows mesoscale turbulence, the emergence of chaotic flow structures characterised by high vorticity and self-propelled topological defects.

The ideas of active matter are suggesting new ways of interpreting cell motility and cell division. I shall discuss recent results indicating that active topological defects may help to regulate turnover in epithelial cell layers and contribute to controlling the structure of bacterial colonies.


A molecular motor marches along a microtubule (from The Inner Life of the Cell)

About The Speaker


Professor Sergei K. Turitsyn graduated from the Department of Physics of the Novosibirsk University, in 1982 and received his Ph.D. degree in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics from the Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, Russia in 1986. In 1992 he moved to Germany, first, as a Humboldt Fellow and then working in the collaborative projects with Deutsche Telekom. Currently, he is a director of the Aston Institute of Photonic Technologies, which is a world known photonic research centre,  with a strong track record of academic achievements, range of developed technologies and expertise in knowledge transfer.  Sergei Turitsyn is the originator of several key concepts in fields the nonlinear science, optical fibre communications and fibre lasers. He was/is a principal investigator in 63 national and international, research and industrial projects. Turitsyn serves as a Topical Editor (Nonlinear Effects in Optical Fibres) of the JOSA B and as a member of the Editorial Board (Electronics, Photonics and Device Physics) of the Scientific Reports, Nature Publishing Group. Turitsyn was the recipient of a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award in 2005. In 2011 he was awarded the European Research Council Advanced Grant. He received Lebedev medal by the Rozhdestvensky Optical Society in 2014, Aston 50th Anniversary Chair medal in 2016 and Chancellor’s Medal in 2018. He is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America and the Institute of Physics.