EventsProf Dr. Bart Jan Ravoo

Responsive Soft Materials by Self-Assembly

Self-assembly is emerging as a superior method to prepare adaptive and responsive nanomaterials. Responsive multivalent interactions are key to such versatile materials. This lecture will highlight soft materials composed of cyclodextrins and/or superparamagnetic nanoparticles. It will be shown that using the host-guest chemistry of cyclodextrins, we can form hydrogels as well as nanocapsules. We can also make “magnetic vesicles” that self-assemble in microscale linear aggregates in aqueous solution under the influence of a magnetic field. The metastable linear aggregates can be stabilized by a noncovalent and photoresponsive cross-linker, which can be photoisomerized between an adhesive and a nonadhesive configuration. Thus, the hybrid material responds to magnetic field as well as to light and a stable self-assembled structure can only be obtained in a magnetic field in the presence of the noncovalent cross-linker. We have recently extended this strategy to superparamagnetic nanoparticles modified with cyclodextrin. These hybrid nanoparticles can be further functionalized using host guest interaction and molecular recognition and they can be used to capture and isolate proteins.

About The Speaker

Bart Jan Ravoo (1970) obtained his graduate and postgraduate degrees from the University of Groningen, The Netherlands. He graduated in physical organic chemistry in 1994 and obtained his PhD degree in 1998 under joint supervision of Prof. Jan Engberts and Dr. Wilke Weringa. His PhD thesis concerned vesicles of polymerizable lipids. During this period, he was a visiting student in Göttingen, Marseille, Leicester and Haifa. He moved to University College Dublin, Ireland, in 1999 for a postdoctoral fellowship with Dr. Raphael Darcy. In the summer of 1999 he obtained the Schering-Plough Newman Scholarship in Organic Chemistry at University College Dublin for a period of three years. His work in Ireland centered on cyclodextrins as building blocks for supramolecular assembly. In 2002 he was appointed as assistant professor in the Laboratory of Supramolecular Chemistry and Technology (Director: Prof. David Reinhoudt) at the University of Twente, The Netherlands. His main research topics in Twente included self-assembly and molecular recognition in water and the development of functional self-assembled monolayers for nanoelectronics, soft lithography and nanofabrication. In 2007, he was appointed as professor at the University of Münster, Germany, where he is in charge of the “Synthesis of Nanoscale Systems” group. From 2012 until 2014 he served as Dean of the Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy.